So, what do you do when you have a phenomenal resume and no prospects?

That is a very personal choice. A choice I’m having to make. I’m still living at home, helping care for my grandmother. Working part time at a job that I love but the fact that its part time means I’m still financially dependent, which is not the ideal scenario.

While I am actively seeking opportunity, applying to everything I’m mostly qualified for, I’m facing the facts. 1) I’ve been actively searching for over a year for full time work. 2) I’m getting minimal response to my applications. 3) This is my time to shine and chase my dreams.

Which leaves me two options. I can keep looking for full time work and hope and pray and plea with the gods that I get something, or I can go to graduate school. And suddenly I’m thinking “I just graduated, do I really want to go back?” The internal answer is, while I miss the academic atmosphere, I don’t miss the deadlines and all nighters, but clearly my current resume is not enough to put me on top of the stack, so I need something more.

But is a Masters degree going to be enough to get me a full time job in a field that prefers experience to academia? I simply don’t know. Life is a gamble. Do I have the guts to let it ride? Maybe. Just maybe.

Leave a Reply

